The Underground Sound of Paris

The Underground Sound of Paris is the first in a new series of documentaries where we go deep; probing and exploring unique facets of electronic music club culture.

Told through the eyes of the characters who created, germinated and spawned the scene over twenty years ago – Laurent Garnier, D’Julz, DJ Deep, Nick V and the former Minister of Culture, Jack Lang – to current rave mavericks – Concrete, 75021 at 6B, Francois X, Antigone and Djebali – they lead us through the journey from Paris’ roots in African rhythms and Jazz, to the 90s electronic explosion including the inaugural Techno Parade, through to the current anti-establishment DIY party ethic of the scene today.



Soundtrack (in order of appearance):


Particules Elémentaires – Francois X // Dement3d Records

New York Collage (LX Re-Fried Chicken Version) – Hugo LX // Mona Musique

Drifting Away – Hugo LX // Mona Musique

2 Miles Away – D´Julz & Phil Weeks // Rex Club Music

Absent – Romain Poncet // Deeply Rooted

Atanol – Romain Poncet // Deeply Rooted

Ligne B – D´Julz & Phil Weeks // Rex Club Music

Journey Home – Antigone & Francois X // Dement3d Records

Ideal Juice – ( djebali ) Records

New York Collage (Kaytronik Mo Bounce Dub) – Hugo LX // Mona Musique


Thanks to:

** Additional footage of Concrete courtesy of: Simon Guillemin – /

** Archive footage of Paris riots courtesy of: ‘Max’ Parmentier for Produc’Sounds

** Archive footage of Techno Parade courtesy of: Technopol

** Additional Paris archive footage thanks to:

– AlphonseDMedia

– Noi sau Vechi –


With special thanks to (in Alphabetical order):

6B – 75021, Antoine Buffard, Antigone, Arab World Institute, Betinos, Brice Coudert, Clara Buot, Concrete, D’Julz, DJ Deep, Djebali, Disquaire Day, Fabrice Gadeau, Farley Brian – Kurst, Fany Corral, Francois X, Hannah Rosseline, Hîm Mohamed, Jack Lang, Jonty Skruff, Julien Boisseau, La Machine du Moulin Rouge, La Source, Laurent Garnier, Jessica Marsh, Jordan Smith, Julee Bee, Sofia Letelier, Lola ED Management, Marc Resplandy, Michel Pilot, Molly, Nick V, Pete Vincent, Phonographe Corp & Digger’s Delight, Rex Club, Simon Guillemin, Social Club, Stéphanie Fichard, Syncrophone, Tommy Vaudecrane, Victorien Jacquemond, Wendy Allen, Yoann Till